

The planeswalker spell resolves and is now on the battlefield. Stack is empty so AP(active player) has priorityĪP pays the costs of the spell and put it on the stackĪP has priority first but has no plays and so passes to the opponent The resolution of a planeswalker goes like this. A crew ability only enters the stack after the player has already payed its cost of tapping creatures.Īs for passing priority the short answer is that the first person to have priority after a spell resolves is the active player. A player decides to activate an ability and then pays all costs in one action. Something doesn't get put on the stack until all costs are payed and you can't respond to prevent the payment of costs. This object is independent of the permanent that created it. Once you pay the costs of the ability it becomes an object on the stack. Think of activating an ability as the same as casting a spell. Then everything resolves and it is the opponent's turn and priority, and they decide what to do. So when your opponent casts their planeswalker, you get priority to respond but the planeswalker is not on the battlefield and cannot be targeted. Now, things being cast is something you can respond to, but actually putting them on the battlefield is not. ALSO: Mana abilities cannot be responded to, much like you cannot respond to lands being tapped.

The ability is still on the stack and goes off, even if the creature it is attached to is dead. So with the example of crew, here's the important thing: Just because you respond to a creature's ability, doesn't mean you stop it. (Especially not helped by the fact that apparently you can respond to something crewing a vehicle and kill the crewer, but then the vehicle is still crewed for the turn? I think I'm missing something there too) Would that also hold for creatures with non-tap-related activated abilities, like say an Architect of the Untamed? Or rather, is it that you can respond to a creature's ability, but not a planeswalker's ability? I'm still a little fuzzy on that whole thing. Huge thanks to Geoffrey Palmer for providing some of his amazing Living Cards animations for our videos.Also a question on priority and the passing of it: When are the proper times that you can respond to something with instant-speed cards? Like, I was told on r/custommagic that if your opponent casted a planeswalker and it resolves with 3 loyalty you couldn't bolt it before it activates its +1, because there's apparently no priority pass there. Thank you to Alexander Newman for donating the packs! Check out his articles here:
Mtg thopter spy network rules how to#
NEW CONTEST! Listen to the show to find out how to enter to win a pack of THE DARK. Get notifications when we post a new video by subscribing to us. Win a copy of Red Rising from Del Rey Spectra! All you have to do to enter is Tweet or email YOUR top pick from Magic: Origins and what deck it is going into.Īll of our video podcasts are now online. In case you missed it, we have already covered the dual-faced Planeswalkers and our spoiler card in a previous episode (#59). Josh and Jimmy review their top picks for EDH/Commander playables in Magic’s newest set Origins.
